One small step

Like many writers, writing isn’t my “day job”, and it certainly doesn’t pay the bills just yet. It’s a passion, and a true love/hate endeavor every time that new idea pops-in there. Take my short story Sky Horns Growling, for example. After I published that last fall it was only a matter of weeks before the relief and joy of another story brought to life subsided and I hatched the idea for how to carry the story forward with the next installment.

GBRAY

That was October. October of last year. I know, I know, “write every day!” Well, even us writers need time to decompress, relax and just enjoy life away from staring at Word. Even though I had the idea, it was a complex one. OK, for me it was complex, and I needed to do some homework to really kickoff the first chapter with an authentic, pulse-pounding start to leave readers breathless and ready to dive right into chapter two. I needed to build the outline. I needed to understand who these characters were, how they fit into this crazy world I setup in the first installment, and where the heck this was all going.

Kimmy

In between I played a lot of video games. Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain, Transformers: Devastation and Bloodborne all were welcome diversions. I did a lot of Netflix watching, flying through the second seasons of Daredevil and The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt while catching-up on The Americans on FX in between.

TCIF

I tell ya, I walked into the man cave countless times and saw that stack of notes but turned away with a guilty conscience to read through my latest stack of comics and several Dark Horse Conan graphic novels instead. By Crom, though, I finally wrapped-up what was a daunting first chapter of the continuation of Sky Horns Growling, We Are Alive Tonight. It took a lot of time, a lot of research, a bunch of tinkering, false starts and second guesses, but here I am. It all starts with a single step, and that’s one small step for man, but one giant leap for any writer.

SmallStep

More to come!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

